Published: Tue, September 25, 2018
Sport | By Floyd Cook

Modric hoping to complete Federation Internationale de Football Association and UEFA double at Best Awards

Modric hoping to complete Federation Internationale de Football Association and UEFA double at Best Awards

With no Cristiano in London, the bets are on Luka Modric having won the Champions League with Real Madrid and reached the World Cup final with Croatia, only to be beaten despite his spectacular performance.

Salah's teammate James Milner spoke for several fans with his take on the award.

Ronaldo and Messi had won every FIFA World Player of the Year award, which was renamed the FIFA Ballon d'Or in 2010 and The Best in 2016, since 2007 when Kaka was victorious.

Lyon's Reynald Pedros won women's coach of the year, Peru fans won the FIFA fan award, the FIFA Fair Play honor was given to former VVV-Venlo striker Lennart Thy, and Brazil's Marta was named the female player of the year for the sixth time.

"It was an unbelievable season, the best season in my life", said Modric. Ronaldo also scored a memorable hat-trick in the FIFA World Cup but did not progress beyond the round of 16.

He was presented with the award following a ceremony in London on Monday night.

Ronaldo, Messi to miss FIFA The Best awards
Mo Salah edges out Riley McGree's wonder goal

The 33-year-old, joined Juventus this summer for a club record £100 million deal, after playing a crucial role in helping Real Madrid win a third straight Champions League title last season, his fifth in total, with 15 goals in the tournament.

You had the unforgettable overhead kicks from Cristiano Ronaldo and Gareth Bale, you had the unexpected strike from Benjamin Pavard at the World Cup and hell, you had a few from Mohamed Salah that were better than his curler against Everton.

Luka Modric and N'Golo Kante are paired together in the middle of the park, providing the base for the genius talents of Eden Hazard, Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe - the latter becoming the first teenager to make the World XI after a breathtaking year.

Best men's Coach: Men's Coach award was won by World Cup victor Didier Deschamps, he was presented the award by compatriot and former Arsenal manager, Arsene Wenger. Salah, 26, has also been shortlisted for men's player of the year.

Despite Thibaut Courtois winning the award for best goalkeeper earlier in the evening, David De Gea is in goal.

More news: Cruz vs. O'Rourke: Two polls show different results

Like this: