Published: Sun, August 19, 2018
Tech | By Amelia Peters

How to use Gmail's 'Confidential Mode' on smartphones

How to use Gmail's 'Confidential Mode' on smartphones

The Gmail account on Twitter announced the arrival of the feature that lets you put a self-destruct timer of conversations to “protect sensitive information from unauthorized access.”.

In April, a brand new design of Gmail was leaked with new features such as snoozing, Smart Reply, and offline support.

It's worth pointing out that if you send an email in confidential mode, any attachments that go along with it will be restricted as well. Now when you send the mail to a particular recipient, they will have a specific time limit to check the mail after which it will be expired. In order to start using Confidential mode, you must open Gmail, click Compose, and from the bottom right of the window tap Turn on confidential mode. You don't even need to update the app-just take a peek in the menu.

Users can view instructions for sending confidential messages, revoking access early, and opening emails sent with confidential message at a Google support page.

More news: Salah on target as Liverpool start with easy win

Once this is highlighted users should press the confidential mode button. There's a new option in the overflow menu at the top called "Confidential mode".

You will then have to choose a passcode which can be an OTP on the recipient's phone number, or you can skip it. But Gmail users today can use the new update to protect their messages instead of following in the grumpy footsteps of the cartoon cop.

You can also enable mandatory passcode for accessing the email. With apps like BHIM, when you enter the payments mode and take a screenshot, it either gives an error that you can't take screenshots, or on some phones it captures complete black photos.

Like this: