Published: Fri, August 10, 2018
Tech | By Amelia Peters

Rockstar Games Provides the First Look at Red Dead Redemption 2 Gameplay

Rockstar Games Provides the First Look at Red Dead Redemption 2 Gameplay

Although the October release date is only a couple of months away, Rockstar has revealed a new video that features plenty of gameplay footage that should tide over the masses until its autumn release.

The result is a massively exciting trailer showing fans exactly what they can expect from the upcoming open-world Western.

Though previously Rockstar Games has shown off cinematic trailers, this is the first time any gameplay has been shared.

Red Dead Redemption 2 is a prequel to the previous entry in the series, set in the late 1890s.

The player controls Arthur Morgan, an outlaw and a member of the Van der Linde gang, from a third-person (and potentially first-person) perspective.

Before you click on the video below remind yourself that everything you'll see is actual gameplay footage.

More news: Trump admits son met with Russian to get info on opponent

Your interactions with the world aren't limited to dealing with the people in it. Hunting plays a large role in Red Dead Redemption 2, as it can help support your camp and earn you money.

We get a glimpse at how the fist-fighting and gunplay have been improved since the original Red Dead Redemption, along with how the bond with your horse will improve as the game progresses.

PC Gamer asked Take-Two, Red Dead Redemption 2's publisher, if the game will be coming to PC and he gave a practical non-answer.

The Red Dead Redemption 2 Official Gameplay Video will go live today, Thursday 9, at 11AM ET, 8AM PT, 4PM BST.

Much to the disappointment of gamers, the original release date was pushed back and it is now due for release in the United Kingdom on October 26, which, fortunately, doesn't seem too far away now.

Like this: