Published: Tue, January 09, 2018
Sport | By Floyd Cook

Frank Beamer selected for College Football Hall of Fame

Frank Beamer selected for College Football Hall of Fame

He now resides in Atlanta where he is a partner with SterlingSeacrest Partners, an insurance and risk management company, and also works as a television football game analyst with the SEC Network and ESPN.

Charles Woodson, who remains the only primary defensive player to win college football's Heisman Trophy, will be enshrined among the game's all-time greats later this year.

The announcement was made by the National Football Foundation on ESPN's Sunday NFL Countdown, which features Woodson as an analyst.

Brown, 66, is one of 13 that will be inducted in the 2018 class.

"We are extremely proud to announce the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class", said NFF chairman Archie Manning.

More news: Alex Trebek on Leave from 'Jeopardy' Due to 'Medical Problem'

A star in the National Football League with Oakland and Green Bay, Woodson will be the 31st MI player inducted into the Hall of Fame.

He finished his college career with 18 interceptions. Taylor is the first Husker player selected since Trev Alberts was inducted in 2015, and will be the sixth Husker inducted into the Hall in the past 12 seasons joining Alberts (2015), Tommie Frazier (2013), Will Shields (2011), Grant Wistrom (2009) and Mike Rozier (2006).

The Louisiana native intercepted 8 passes as a junior and earned consensus first-team All-America honors in 2000.

Taylor came to Nebraska from Wichita Falls, Texas, and was a starter at both left guard (1995 and '97) and center (1996) during his Husker career.

Nebraska went 49-2 during Taylor's tenure and retired his No. 67 jersey after his departure. The class included 1997 Heisman Trophy victor Charles Woodson of MI, which split the '97 national championship with Taylor's final Husker team.

Like this: